Over View

In India’s Kashmir area, Ladakh is a union territory. Ladakh, which formerly belonged to the state of Jammu & Kashmir, became a union territory on October 31, 2019. Ladakh is a place unlike any other, stretching from the Siachen Glacier to the main Great Himalayas. Ladakh, the coldest desert on earth, is famed for its spectacular vistas.

Ladakh is a riot of exquisite murals and red-robed monks. It is home to magnificent Gompas (Tibetan Buddhist monasteries), fluttering prayer flags, and whitewashed stupas. According to legend, a man sitting in the sun with his feet in the shade can experience both sunstroke and frostbite at the same time only in Ladakh. The people of Ladakh are hospitable and inviting to travelers and share Tibetan cultural traits.

High-altitude trekking and rafting are popular activities in Ladakh. Keep in mind that Leh Ladakh cannot be reached by road outside of the summer. From about October to May, the route passes quite near each other, and the only way to get there is by plane. From January to the end of February, chadar treks are conducted on the ice Zanskar river.

Here is something that might be of use to those of us who are perpetually perplexed about the distinction between these same regions, Leh and Ladakh. The districts of Leh and Kargil make up the two districts that makeup Ladakh. The former district features a well-known town called “Leh,” which is a popular tourist destination because of the stunning monasteries nearby, the Shanti Stupa, the cafes, and the Leh Bazaar, which characterizes the local culture.

Places to visit:

  • Pangong Lake
  • Khardung La Pass
  • Nubra Valley
  • Sangam
  • Shanti Stupa
  • Tso Moriri Lake
  • Magnetic Hill
  • Hall Of Fame Museum
  • Thiksey Monastery
  • Zanskar Valley
  • Shey Monastery and Palace
  • Stok Palace

Explore the City